Introductions

My name is Ren, and I am a feminist.

I’m a lot of other things, too. A social media connoisseur.  A poet. A student. A mathematician. A queer. A bowler. I have a ton of interests, and I love interacting with the things that I read about. And as a rising senior in college, this is the year of Figuring Out What I Want To Do With My Life. Honestly? I have no idea. I have a thousand interests that could go into a thousand different directions and I don’t know which of them I want more than which other ones, and what will be practical, etc. etc.

So I went to Feminist Boot Camp.  Organized by Soapbox, Inc. (read more about it here), I went with about 15 other young feminists to different people and organizations in New York City to learn about how to enact feminism in practice. It was enlightening, to say the least. Everyone we spoke to was doing something awesome with their lives, though they all had insanely different ways of getting there. That was valuable information: whatever I end up doing in life, I’m certainly not going to get there on purpose.

And now that FBC is over, I want to do something. I want to write about the things that I see in the world, and I want to engage with people outside of my college bubble. It’s time to exist in the world more fully, I think. So that’s what I’m trying to do with this blog. I welcome feedback, comments, and questions, for always. Let the employment games begin, or something like that. Also yay feminism.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

